Krzysztof Penderecki

Sibelius prize winner 1983

Krzysztof Penderecki
Born 23 November 1933 in Debica, Poland

Studied at the Kraków Conservatory, where he was appointed rector in 1972

Lecturer at the Folkwang Academy in Essen 1966–1968

Professor at the Yale University School of Music 1972–1978

Appeared widely as a lecturer and conductor of his own works

Honorary doctorates:

Universities of Rochester, Bordeaux, Leuven, Belgrade, Madrid, Poznan, Warsaw, Buenos Aires, Glasgow, Cracow, Cluj (Romania), Lucerne, Georgetown Washington D.C, Duquesne Pittsburgh, St. Petersburg, Yale, St. Olaf College, Northfield (Minnesota), Academies of Music in Cracow and Warsaw, Leipzig, Seoul, Ireland Maynooth, Bucharest, Peru Lima

Honorary member:

Royal Academy of Music (London), Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia (Rome), Kungliga Musikaliska Akademien (Stockholm), Akademie der Künste (Berlin), Academia Nacional de Bellas Artes (Buenos Aires), Academie Internationale de Philosophie et de I’Art (Bern), Académie Nationale des Sciences, Belles-lettres et Arts (Bordeaux), Academia Scientiarium et Artium Europaea (Salzburg), Royal Irish Academy of Music (Dublin), American Academy of Arts and Letters, Kosciuszko Foundation (New York), Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde (Vienna), Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, Academia Argentina de Musica


  • five operas
  • vocal works including Stabat mater, St Luke Passion, Polish Requiem, Dies irae, Utrenia, Te Deum, Seven Gates of Jerusalem, Credo
  • orchestral works including Anaklasis, Tren ofiarom Hiroszimy, Polymorfia
  • piano concerto
  • two violin concertos
  • two cello concertos
  • concerto for three cellists
  • flute concerto
  • five symphonies
  • chamber and tape music

Westphalia Prize 1966
The National Prize, first class 1968
Karl Wolf Award 1987
Grammy Award 1988
Grawemeyer Award 1992
Crystal Award 1997
Cannes Classical Award as “Living composer of the Year” 2000
Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts Category 2001
Staatspreis des Landes Nordrhein Westfalen 2003
Viadrina Preis, Europa Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) 2012
Lifetime Achievement Award 2012,International Classical Music Awards
Lifetime Achievement Award from the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts at the 41st International Istanbul Music Festival

Kaikki kansallisuudet ↓

Kaikki vuodet ↓

  • Valitse kansallisuus
  • Kaikki
  • Austria
  • Denmark
  • Federal Republic of Germany
  • Finland
  • France
  • Great Britain
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • South Korea
  • UK
  • USA
  • USSR
  • Valitse vuosi
  • Kaikki
  • 2023
  • 2020
  • 2017
  • 2015
  • 2012
  • 2009
  • 2006
  • 2003
  • 2000
  • 1983
  • 1973
  • 1971
  • 1965
  • 1963
  • 1958
  • 1955
  • 1953